Jubileeing?

First cup of coffee on the deck…..

Hmmm….it is wet and damp on my bare feet…must have rained last night and I slept right through.  The moon is full….peeking in and out behind the cloud cover.  The sky is just starting to lighten with shades of blue–only seen fleetingly.

I suppose I will stand with my coffee since sitting on wet furniture is not an option.  Still, a gorgeous morning…a day that is full of potential….

Yesterday was Jubilee Day in the town where I live.  I’ve been there…fought the crowds pushing and shoving, shuffling along with the others.  I have to say that I don’t particularly care for Jubilee Day…and I know that I am in the minority in saying this.

I didn’t understand–what is all the ‘jubileeing’ about? 

So, I looked into this…

Apparently, our Jubilee Day was started in 1923…the largest and longest running one day street fair in the entire East Coast.  This was started by the Chamber of Commerce all those years ago….I suppose to create business for the town….I really don’t know.

Some just will not miss this day…the chance to go and buy food and goods from vendors….streets are closed….parking is impossible….took me a longer time than usual to return home yesterday due to the traffic….

And it rained….rained down on Jubilee Day……but, this did not stop those determined to go. 

Maybe I’m missing something….maybe I just can’t see what the vendors have that I may be interested in due to the fact that I cannot make my way to their stand because of  the massive amount of people crowding one street–estimated to be 60,000 people. 

Or maybe I’m just not interested.  And those who don’t understand this….well, they just don’t have to understand me. 

I’m me….I know that I don’t care for this day of festivities….I don’t mind that others do love this day….but, please don’t try to convince me that this will be ‘fun’ for me. 

Because it is not….

Beth

Oh, yes….the July Giveaway is still going on until Monday evening!!  Only a couple of entries so far…I’m wanting to give these away.  All it takes is a comment and you could be the winner!!

About warmharte

First and foremost, I love our Lord!! He is the center of all things in my life. I am the mother of three, grandmother of one. I love to knit, crochet, sew and create.
This entry was posted in Giveaway, Random Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jubileeing?

  1. Bernice says:

    Hi Beth

    Havean great and blessed week.Thankfull that you are beter again.

    Bernice

Leave a Reply

