But, How?

The morning air is close…hot, humid, languid….and all seems very still….

The birds aren’t singing….I cannot hear the traffic from the interstate far away…..

and I wonder

about all this stillness….

How sometimes I find it so easy to be still and listen…

other times I rush…..

from here to there….

do this….

do that….

on to the next thing that happens to be on my ‘list’.

I wonder…..and so, I ask…

“God, what do You want me to do next?  What are Your plans for my day?”

Today….

A concentrated effort to hear and obey God in the stillness of the morning….this is the easy part…when all is quiet and calm.

What about when the world invades?  Sometimes the day passes by in a blur, and I know that I haven’t taken a moment to be still….there doesn’t seem to be a moment to be still…what about those times?  Aren’t I missing something?

I’m sure that I am….missing God’s direction for my life from minute to minute…missing the Holy Spirit’s leading speaking to my heart and mind….and what about those times?

How do I hear from God when all the voices of the world are clamoring down upon me from all sides….asking, demanding…..

How? 

I admit that I want to feel the stillness and quiet at all times.  I admit that I want to always feel the closeness of God within me….around me….always and forever. 

But, how?

Beth

 

About warmharte

First and foremost, I love our Lord!! He is the center of all things in my life. I am the mother of three, grandmother of one. I love to knit, crochet, sew and create.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to But, How?

  1. pam says:

    Makes you just wonder in glory what it was like in the garden of Eden doesn’t it? Abiding with Him is my goal….it looks different all the time…sometimes quiet, sometimes thankful that I “just know” that He is with me as I rush on. You just spoke your heart….He sees that. Always to be hungry for more….that’s a good thing. Pondering with you!

Leave a Reply

